Setup Azure and Azure plan usage-based billing

Autotask Connector Settings Related to Azure (plan) Usage

Some Autotask Connector settings related to Azure legacy or Azure plan usage play a part in the way this usage is processed to Autotask. To view the Autotask connector configuration, go to the side menu in Spinpanel,  “My Organization,” “Solution Settings,” “Autotask Settings,” and click "Configure your Autotask service" to view and modify the Autotask settings.

autotask settings

The following settings affect the processing of Azure (plan) usage to Autotask:

  • Global product mark-up rate (%): here, you can set the global mark-up rate percentage that applies to Azure product usage.
  • Microsoft Azure material code: an Autotask material code that will be used for processing the usage as charges on the Autotask contract.
  • Microsoft Azure bundled usage: switch this on if you want all Azure legacy usage to appear as one bundled charge on the contract for a customer. Azure plan usage will be created in the Autotask connector and on the contract as one charge by default.
  • Bundled Autotask contract charge name: if you've switched on bundled usage, this setting will allow you to configure the name for the bundled charge on the contract.

Enable billing

Azure subscriptions must be made billable for their usage to be sent over to the Autotask connector. Follow this previous article to enable billing on the Azure subscriptions. 

    Configuring contracts for Azure services

    For the billing connector to be able to sync Azure usage to Autotask, your Azure services (Resource Groups) need to be linked to an Autotask contract. To link a service to an Autotask contract, do as follows:

    • From the side-menu select Solutions > Autotask > Contracts.
    • On the Contracts page select the Customer from the Customer drop-down
    • In the contracts list, click the row for the Azure service and enter the contract ID for the Autotask contract you want to process the Azure usage.

    The Autotask connector needs to run after configuring the services for Azure legacy or Azure plan usage to become available. 

    Configuring and Approving Azure (plan) usage

    The Azure legacy page is where you can configure the mark-up rate for your Azure legacy resources or approve the Azure legacy usage for a specific invoice date. On the Azure plan  page you can do the same for Azure plan usage.

    To configure Azure legacy products:

    • From the side-menu select Solutions > Autotask > Azure legacy.
    • On the Azure legacy mark-up rate page, select the Customer from the Organisation drop-down.
    • Click a row to set or change the mark-up for that product.

    KB Autotask Azure lagacy mark-up rate

    To approve Azure legacy usage:

    • From the side-menu select Solutions > Autotask > Azure legacy.
    • On the Azure legacy mark-up rate page, select the Customer from the Organisation drop-down.
    • From the Invoice date drop-down, select the desired invoice date.
    • Click the Approve button. The Autotask synchronization will process all usage for the selected invoice date to Autotask during the next Autotask connector synchronization.

    Clicking the Approve button will approve all usage for all customers for the selected invoice date.

    To configure Azure plan products:

    • From the side-menu select Solutions > Autotask > Azure legacy.
    • On the Azure plan mark-up rate page, select the Customer from the Organisation drop-down.
    • Click the row to set or change the mark-up for Azure plan.

    KB Autotask Azure plan mark-up rate

    To approve Azure plan usage:

    • From the side-menu select Solutions > Autotask > Azure plan.
    • On the Azure plan mark-up rate page, select the Customer from the Organisation drop-down.
    • From the Invoice date drop-down, select the desired invoice date.
    • Click the Approve button. The Autotask synchronization will process all usage for the selected invoice date to Autotask during the next Autotask connector synchronization.

    Clicking the Approve button will approve all usage for all customers for the selected invoice date.